Just Show Me!!

So this whole blogging world is new to me.  URL’S, POSTS, COMMENTS, BACKGROUNDS (I get stuck in THAT tab FOREVER!), DASHBOARDS, TAGS.   AHHHHH!   I’m kinda old.  I’m in heaven with a new, colored flair and a fresh, crisp piece of paper (or even  a 2-bit pen and a napkin, in a pinch).  After many frustrated attempts to do what everybody TOLD me to to do to comment, post, paste, sign, seal, deliver (great song), I finally threw my hands up and said to my friend, “Would you please just SHOW me??”  And she did.  I sat at her safe, trusted, left elbow with my orange flair and clean piece of paper and she walked me through it.  Done.  Got it.  Awesome.

I realized something…it wasn’t the actual writing of the blog that stressed me out, it was, rather, the technical process of navigating lands I was new to that sent my heart pumping and my frustration level through the roof!  I thought technology was supposed to make things EASIER.  The writing was the fun part for me, cathartic.  It slowed me down at the end of every day and invited me to reflect. 

What I understood today was this…as a learner, there is a time and place for ALL kinds of learning.  Some days I can get what I need through a tutorial, an email, a conversation, but today I needed my friend to just sit next to me and show me.  She did and I got it.  We need to teach kids that.  That although they have been labeled as a “visual” or “hands-on” or linear, or non-linear learner, different situations require us to seek help in the way in which it makes sense for us based on the task at hand.  Furthermore (love transition words) we have to teach them to find their voices and help us, as teachers, create safe spaces where they can continually ask for what they know they need.

I like blogging!

About bwartzen

I am a middle school literacy teacher in a K-8 STEM Charter school in Waukesha, WI
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Show Me!!

  1. Right on! I love the line there is a time and place for All kinds of learning. I get it and know it is so true with my students. Thanks for the lovely post.

  2. Tracy says:

    Congratulations! I am also new to blogging. Wish I had had your friend to give me a “Blogging for Dummies” lesson too! I am learning through trial and error. Love your reflection the we need to help our students “find their voices” and “create safe spaces” for them. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. oh how I love the backgrounds too…I’m new to this and old at the same time…I have kind of a reflective personality, so this is good…I just hate punctuation and then oops, I’ve hit the wrong button, yet again…today I accidentally re-did yesterday’s post. I agree with the you, especially with the student comparison. I tell way to often instead of showing.

  4. Emily says:

    Nice work! One quick lesson and you’re a pro now. 🙂 Your constant reflections on yourself as a learner have always inspired me and are what make you so in tune with your students and their range of needs!

  5. MaryHelen says:

    I love your aside. 🙂 Through our learning, we are able to teach better. Glad you are blogging.

  6. elsie says:

    Hang in there, I had a learning curve on this whole blogging thing. Slowly I figured some things out, but there are still things I don’t get. It’s good to put us out of our comfort zone so we know what the kids are experiencing. Great reflection!

Leave a comment