Alzhiemers and Kids

I spent the day with my 80 year old father who has Alzheimer’s.  As I reflected on the day I realized how fortunate I was to have all of tools and trades of a teacher.  I used them over and over and over again when he…

began playing with the stethoscope

had to go to the bathroom and did not want to walk down the hall alone

didn’t want to take his shirt off for the doctor

asked for the tenth time, “Now where are we going again?”..5 minutes into the car ride.

Being a teacher has its perks, but successfully and patiently dealing with an Alzheimer’s patient for the day was one I did not expect!

 

About bwartzen

I am a middle school literacy teacher in a K-8 STEM Charter school in Waukesha, WI
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alzhiemers and Kids

  1. the comparison you made to childhood was excellent…I imagine that you have gone through plenty of the teacher emotions…patience is always the most loving response, I think

  2. girlgriot says:

    I agree that patience is a loving response. I applaud your positive approach to what must be a very challenging situation.

  3. showgem says:

    I applaud your patience. It is not easy to see the roles reversed, but your used what you know and put things in perspective.

Leave a Reply

